• Aging Service Dogs

Posted by kevin-schaefer on July 20, 2018 at 3:00 pm

My service dog Pandy (short for Pandora) is 9 1/2. She’s more of a companion/family dog at this point, which is typical for service dogs as they get older. They eventually get to a point of “retirement.” I kind of expected this once I graduated college, as she just doesn’t have as much to do these days.

I’ll admit too that it is hard for me to give her the attention she needs. Between working full-time, writing jobs on the side, my social life and everything else I have going on, it is a challenge for me to set aside time for her. I don’t want to see her lay around the house all the time, but she just doesn’t have as much energy as she used to. Even when I take her for walks out, she wears out a lot faster than she did just a few years ago.

Has anyone else experienced this? Again I know it’s natural, but I still don’t want her to feel neglected or depressed. I just have trouble finding time for her with everything else I have going on.

michael-morale replied 5 years, 8 months ago 3 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • deann-r

July 21, 2018 at 8:51 pm