SMA News Forums Forums Our Community Adults ​With​ ​SMA Working with SMA: Part-Time and Full-Time

• Working with SMA: Part-Time and Full-Time

Posted by kevin-schaefer on August 10, 2018 at 9:00 am

When I graduated college in December 2016, I was pretty unsure about what I’d do next. I knew I wanted to write, and I took any kind of freelance gig I could get. I also applied for tutor jobs, a couple government positions (I was desperate) and did as much networking as I could. Eventually I landed the columnist position for SMA News Today, which later turned into a full-time job here at BioNews. Now my responsibilities include managing this forum, producing podcasts, working with the social media team, working with people on other BioNews sites, developing outreach strategies and continuing to write my column. I also do creative writing and podcasting for fun. It’s a lot, but I enjoy staying busy.

Still, it can be tricky to find a balance between working and attending to your physical and mental health. I don’t want to overdo it, but I also don’t want to do so little that I go crazy (and poor). Sometimes I do push myself a little too hard, but I do prefer to be on that end instead of having nothing to do.

In college I often exerted too much of my energy. I was a full-time student and a section editor at the student newspaper, and I was involved in a Christian campus ministry. I definitely stretched myself too thin, and in my final semester I finally decided to buckle down and do well in school. I stopped working for the paper then and focused on my classes. I still recommend for college students to get involved in student life, but to be careful not to commit to too much. The same advice applies to work life. The key is to find a balance.

What do you all do for work? Do you work part-time or full-time? Are you trying to work, but don’t know where to start?

aubrie-galinis replied 5 years, 8 months ago 4 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • lydia-fecteau