SMA News Forums Forums Life Advice and Transitions College Students Online Classes vs. In-Person

• Online Classes vs. In-Person

Posted by kevin-schaefer on February 18, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Hello all. I wanted to discuss the topic of online courses. When I was a student at NC State, I took some online classes, but I did most of mine in-person. Online courses certainly have their benefits, and they can be especially helpful for students with disabilities. However, I do recommend that other SMA individuals make an effort to do as much on campus as they can so that they can be socially active. I think it’s good to have a balance of online and in-person classes, so as to create a flexible and manageable schedule.

What are your thoughts? Do you like taking online courses? Or do you prefer the structure of traditional classes? Share your thoughts here, and feel free to ask questions as well.

kevin-schaefer replied 6 years ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • deann-r

April 2, 2018 at 9:11 am

Have to say I’m a bit old school when it comes to this topic.  Most of my classes were on campus, although I did take a couple online for convenience.  It just seems I retain the info better when I’m in a classroom setting.  I definitely tried to group my classes together to make the effort of getting to campus worth while.  College was my first experience with independent living, so I’m glad I pushed that comfort zone.

Did you have note takers?  I never did, but struggled to keep up sometimes.  Wish I would have had my service dog in college too.  Countless pens and pencils were lost to the halls of SSU.

• mitch-wilson

April 3, 2018 at 10:06 am