SMA News Forums Forums Assistive Technology What’s the Best Tablet For Reading?

• kevin-schaefer

July 18, 2019 at 3:22 pm

I use my iPad. You can download eBooks, magazines, etc. on it. But Kindles and Nooks work great too.

• dennis-turner

July 18, 2019 at 3:26 pm

For me, kindle. I have a really old kindle, prior to the paperwhite, no touch screen, no nothing, but it is light, runs forever on a charge, and syncs with my phone so I can read anywhere, anytime.

My oldest son went with the nook since he was working at a Barnes and Noble and his needed to be replaced 2 or 3 times before he caved and bought a kindle.

Just my thoughts.

• tracy-odell

July 18, 2019 at 3:38 pm

I have trouble with a tablet because I can’t reach all parts of the screen, and I tend to use some fingers to raise my hand up enough to support my pointer finger to activate icons on the screen.

I prefer having a talking book through my iPhone. I have a subscription to audible.com which gives me a fair number of books to read. My local library also has numerous titles available to download for free – bonus they can never be late because the time expires and returns the book without me doing anything.

I had a Kobo which is Canadian version of a Kindle, but I found I couldn’t work the on/off button well enough – it needed to be dragged over to the side and because it was nearly flush with the top of the Kobo, I could not get a grip on it even with my fingernail. A friend of mine traded me for her Kindle, which had a button that was a bit easier for me to work – maybe because it was more worn in or for some other reason, but whenever I feel like reading it seems the Kindle is out of my reach and/or out of power. I never think about charging it, unfortunately.

So I prefer using my iPhone which I always have with me or reading text or listening through my PC.

• deann-r

July 19, 2019 at 3:55 pm

Tracy, I have my tablet on a turntable, that makes it much easier to reach the icons.