5 Frequently Asked Questions About SMA



Type 1: This is the most common and also the most severe type of SMA. It accounts for 60 percent of cases and is generally diagnosed within the first six months of a child’s life. Children with type I SMA will have very limited movement and may be unable to swallow or breathe without assistance.

Type 2: This type is usually diagnosed between six months old and two years old. Children with type 2 will usually be able to sit up unaided but will be unable to walk.

Type 3: Type 3 is less severe although the range of movement diminishes over time.

Type 4: Type 4 is very rare and affects adults. Symptoms usually appear after the age of 35.

Read more about types 3 and 4 of spinal muscular atrophy here.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This