SMA News Forums Forums Our Community Adults ​With​ ​SMA Tips for Doing Quality Physical Therapy

• Tips for Doing Quality Physical Therapy

Posted by kevin-schaefer on July 16, 2018 at 2:38 pm

I’ve been doing aquatic therapy for several years now. Initially I didn’t think much of it, because I really wasn’t sure what good it would do for me. Now however, I’m finding that it really helps to do it on a regular basis, especially in conjunction with my Spinraza treatments.

I just wanted to share a few tips to ensure that you have quality PT. These are not tips from a medical expert. I’m just noting the things that have helped me personally. Please seek out professional advice for when you do start physical therapy.

Consistency: One of the things that has helped me the most is going to PT on a consistent basis, and having a regular therapist I work with. I go once a week to PT, and I have two main therapists I work with. Both know my needs well, and they push me to my limits so that I can keep improving my muscle strength and flexibility. Keeping yourself on a schedule and working with the same physical therapist is key.

Communication: Once you start the physical therapy process, the thing you want to establish with your PT is communication. Make sure that your PT knows your needs and limitations from the beginning. Every patient is different, and you want to make it clear what you can and can’t do.

Pushing Yourself: When you first start physical therapy, it’s likely that your muscles will be pretty tight and that you won’t be able to move much. As you continue the process however, you want to push yourself and allow your PT to challenge you with new exercises. I’m doing significantly more exercises and stretches now than I used to, and I’m glad. You don’t want to stay on the same level just so you can stay comfortable. Test your limits and don’t be afraid to work yourself. It’s certainly a commitment for me to do it every week, but it’s well worth it.