Subscribe to our mailing list

Get regular updates delivered to your email box.
Thank you for subscribing!

SMA Disease Progression


Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) is a genetic disease that affects about 1 in 10,000 babies. The neurodegenerative disease is usually diagnosed between the ages of 6 months and 2 years old. Four different types of SMA exist with type 1 as the most severe with poor prognosis, to type 4 which is an adult form of the disease.

Discover more information about the different types of SMA here.

In this video from the DNA Learning Center shared in July 2012, Dr. Darryl De Vivo explains disease progression for the different types of SMA.

Read more about the faulty gene responsible for spinal muscular atrophy here.

SMA News Today is strictly a news and information website about the disease. It does not provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. This content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or another qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this website.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *