SMA Disease Progression

Wendy Henderson avatar

by Wendy Henderson |

Share this article:

Share article via email

Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) is a genetic disease that affects about 1 in 10,000 babies. The neurodegenerative disease is usually diagnosed between the ages of 6 months and 2 years old. Four different types of SMA exist with type 1 as the most severe with poor prognosis, to type 4 which is an adult form of the disease.

Discover more information about the different types of SMA here.

In this video from the DNA Learning Center shared in July 2012, Dr. Darryl De Vivo explains disease progression for the different types of SMA.

Read more about the faulty gene responsible for spinal muscular atrophy here.

SMA News Today is strictly a news and information website about the disease. It does not provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. This content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or another qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this website.