Spinal Muscular Atrophy Type 3 and Type 4

Wendy Henderson avatar

by Wendy Henderson |

Share this article:

Share article via email

Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) is a genetic disease that affects mostly children, but comes in different forms. The severe neuromuscular disease affects a person’s ability to participate in daily life functions, like walking, eating, or even breathing.

Read more about spinal muscular atrophy here.

In this video shared by FightSMA in 2010, Dr. Bob Leshner, a pediatric neurologist and neuromuscular clinician, talks about the different types of SMA, in particular, type 3 and type 4, and their treatment programs. “It’s possible that a better understanding of the type 3 and the type 4 patient, understanding why their disease is so much more benign … may provide additional windows of insight into future therapeutic strategies,” he says.

Learn more about the genes involved in spinal muscular atrophy. 

SMA News Today is strictly a news and information website about the disease. It does not provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. This content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or another qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this website.