11 Fast Facts About Spinal Muscular Atrophy


  • There are four types of SMA with type 1 being the most severe and type 4 the mildest.
  • Types 1 to 3 develop in childhood and type 4 SMA develops in adulthood.
  • SMA is the genetic disease responsible for the most infant deaths. Those with type 1 SMA do not typically live beyond their second birthday.
  • Children with type 2 and type 3 have good survival rates but most will need a wheelchair from early childhood onwards.

Find out more about the different types of spinal muscular atrophy here.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 1 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *