SMA News Forums Forums SMA News Today Multimedia Flash Briefings and Podcasts Disability and Employment Podcast

• blake-watson

October 19, 2021 at 9:18 pm

I really loved this episode! Hearing everyone’s stories and perspectives was helpful and encouraging.

I hated to hear Michael’s story about asking for a pay cut. It sucks that we’d ever have to do that and it’s antithetical to the stated goals of the programs we rely on—an indictment of the system for sure.

I covered much of my story when I was on the podcast but I’ll recount it here.

My story

I graduated grad school (MBA) in 2009 right smack in the middle of the housing crisis. I had not worked much before that—I wish I would’ve known how important internships or other work experience would be. I had a lot of trouble finding work. I had picked up web design and development in college and was trying to find full-time work in the industry.

Things are better now but at the time the tech industry in Mississippi wasn’t exactly booming. At least not for the jobs I was qualified for. I did whatever freelance work I could and started to build up a portfolio (it’s worth mentioning that one of my first clients was the late Greg Smith, a successful writer and motivational speaker with SMA).

I went on a number of job interviews that didn’t lead anywhere. While I tried not to let it bug I do think I faced a bit of discrimination. By 2014, after a few false starts and long periods of no work at all I began to get discouraged. As my disability progressed and my resume gathered dust I contemplated giving up on ever finding a job. It was deeply disheartening. I felt defeated. I also wanted to date but felt worthless, unproductive, and emasculated (I realize now that I was way too hard on myself and that being unemployed doesn’t make you less of a person).