SMA News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge Greetings and New Beginnings

• Greetings and New Beginnings

Posted by ari-anderson on September 30, 2020 at 11:09 am

Hi Everybody!

I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of SMA News Today Forums until a couple months ago. That shows how much I have to learn about the SMA community and I’m excited to learn!

My name is Ari and I have SMA Type I. Although I’ve kind of been a solo man act for most of my life, that doesn’t mean I haven’t done a lot. I’m a college grad from Queen’s University of Charlotte and for the past 20 years I’ve done a ton of advocacy. I advocate for a Medicaid program called Private Duty Nursing, PDN. This program sends skilled nursing, RNs and LPNs, into people’s homes. Without this program, I and many others couldn’t survive.

To advocate for PDN and other programs I’ve met with countless state legislators, been to Washington DC twice, and even been involved in a couple of court cases. Although I haven’t officially been part of any advocacy group in the past, I sometimes work closely with the Government Liason Officer of the home care agency I use.

All that being said, I regret that I haven’t been more involved in actual SMA causes. That’s why I’m so excited to be joining this group! I’m absolutely willing to learn from all of you and be whatever support I can.

For fun I like science fiction and comic books, preferably both, LOL. I also like to read and write a lot. That’s just the tip of the iceberg though and I’m looking forward to getting to know all of you as well.

Hope you’re having a great day!

Ari

ari-anderson replied 3 years, 7 months ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • deann-r

September 30, 2020 at 11:41 am

Hey Ari!  Welcome to the community.  Sounds like you’ll fit right in.  We have other sci fi and comic enthusiasts here as well.  Do you have a favorite?