SMA News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge Hello everyone

• Hello everyone

Posted by sara on August 15, 2023 at 4:08 pm

Hello. I’m Sara and I just registered yesterday, although I have to admit I have been visiting these forums for a while now. Coming here and reading your testimonies and shared experiences has been really important, so I thought I had to say hi and thank you to everyone.

I guess I’m supposed to tell you about myself so here it goes: I’m from Portugal, I’m 46, persistent (some would say stubborn), I love Legos although I can’t build them with my hands, I’ve met my best friend 42 years ago, I studied mathematics, work in graphic design and music saved me a bunch of times. I have SMA Type II and began the treatment with risdiplam 14 days ago. (No side-effects for now, but still anxious about it)

That’s it and as I said before: thank you.

alyssa-silva replied 8 months ago 4 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • Lisanne

August 16, 2023 at 1:46 pm

Hi Sara I also joined this forum yesterday and have been reading some of the questions and responses. I was diagnosed 40 years ago with type 3. There weren’t groups, and forums back then. It’s nice to connect with others and share our SMA experiences.

• alyssa-silva

August 17, 2023 at 7:56 am

@sara You’ll have to keep us posted on your Risdiplam journey. How exciting!

What type of graphic design work do you do? It’s always been a hobby of mine. Also the whole stubborn/persistent thing… definitely a Portuguese trait. I have it too. 🙂

• deann-r

August 17, 2023 at 10:10 am

Welcome Sara and Lisanne! It’s great to have you both here. I think you’ll find we have a great community. Feel free to chime in on any of the conversions. The more input the better.

Small world Sara, lots of connections with Portugal. My sister’s mother-in-law lives there. She just visited a few months ago. If I traveled it would definitely be on my destination list. How was the accessibility?