SMA News Forums Forums Treatments and Research Zolgensma (onasemnogene abeparvovec) Key Differences Between Spinraza and ZOLGENSMA

• Key Differences Between Spinraza and ZOLGENSMA

Posted by michael-morale on May 29, 2019 at 7:00 am

Over the past couple of weeks, I have received numerous questions regarding the differences between Spinraza and ZOLGENSMA. On Friday, May 24, 2019, ZOLGENSMA became the second FDA-approved treatment for Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). With this approval comes a lot of questions regarding these two treatments. Please understand that I’m not a doctor, but I’m going to try to describe the differences between Spinraza and ZOLGENSMA in layman’s terms.

The human body is composed of a myriad cells and genes that make us who we are. SMA is caused by a mutation in the SMN1 gene, and this mutation is the reason why we have this terrible disease. Everyone has a copy of the SMN1 gene, and it’s known as the SMN2 gene. This SMN2 gene produces the same type of protein that the SMN1 gene produces, only at lower amounts.

Spinraza works by trying to repair the SMN2 gene. SMN is an acronym that stands for Survival Motor Neuron. Without getting too technical, think of it this way. If you take a sentence that is 10 words long, and remove the 7th word, this sentence would not make sense. This missing 7th word is known as the 7th exon. When this 7th exon is removed, it produces a faulty message, which in turn, makes this an insufficient or defective protein.