• Looking for information

Posted by lydia-fecteau on August 7, 2018 at 2:26 pm

I am 48 years old and have never walked. My physical ability is equivalent to a quadriplegic without the ability to lift my arms or really move my legs. I’m contemplating on trying Spinraza. Has anyone with that much muscle weakness tried it? Did anyone find success, even minor success? To be honest I would be happy if I could just lift my arms enough to feed myself or have enough energy to make it through the day. I’m a part-time professor at two colleges and sometimes teach up to 17 credit hours a semester with as many as 150 students. I work at Stockton University and  Atlantic Cape Community College in southern New Jersey near Atlantic City. I also am a major advocate for the disabled community including creating a Disability Studies Minor at Stockton University. Thanks for information anyone can offer. I’m working with Biogen and may be looking at a treatment center in Philadelphia. I’m very early in this journey. I have to get my genetic testing done first.

alex-telenson replied 5 years, 8 months ago 6 Members · 12 Replies
  • 12 Replies
  • deann-r

August 7, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Hey Lydia, I’m 38 type 2 with fairly limited arm movement. I’ve been on Spinraza for about a year now.  As far as improvements, although slow in coming for me I have made some.  My upper limb assessment went from 5 points (out of 37) to 13 within this year. My arms still don’t have much lift to them, but objects seem a bit lighter, and I’m just moving more. The biggest difference for me is muscle sensation. My muscles tend to get sore if I use them a lot, and that’s new to me.

If you don’t mind my asking, do you have your spine fused? That may determine how it gets administered. Good luck on your journey! Please keep us posted.

• lydia-fecteau

August 8, 2018 at 7:47 am