SMA News Forums Forums Our Community Adults ​With​ ​SMA This Summer Has Been Challenging

• This Summer Has Been Challenging

Posted by ryan-berhar on August 15, 2019 at 5:37 pm

As a kid, summer was my favorite season.  I did not like school at all, so naturally, summer was a time that I cherished.  Since I graduated, however, summer has become my least favorite season. I thrive on structure, and summer is when structure goes out the window.  Typically, I am at my grandparents’ house Monday, Wednesday, and Friday nights, and at home with my immediate family the other four nights.  During the summer, this schedule is entirely disrupted. I can’t remember the last time I had a normal week. I don’t like going back-and-forth between houses anyway,  but it’s nice to at least have a schedule.  The change in schedule is primarily due to my family/caregivers traveling. I’m not able to travel much myself, so I often stay behind with whoever is not going somewhere. The point is not to complain about my inability to travel, or that I’m being left out, I’m just explaining the cause of the problem.

We also have a lot more company in the summer, which also contributes to the schedule being more fluid. My siblings are also home from school.

These challenges are always associated with summer, but this particular summer has been tough in other ways as well. I’m somewhat struggling with where I am in life. My two best friends both got married within a month of each other, which I’m sure you can imagine fills me with all kinds of emotions. I’m also looking into getting more work, which is a bit stressful.

It’s been a difficult season, and I’m ready for it to be over. Football is almost here! Do you guys have similar struggles with maintaining structure during the summer?

ryan-berhar replied 4 years, 8 months ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • survivinglife

August 15, 2019 at 10:01 pm