SMA News Forums Forums Assistive Technology Typing Solutions for Weak Arms

• Typing Solutions for Weak Arms

Posted by alyssa-silva on November 12, 2020 at 11:00 am

As I mentioned recently (I think last week?), I am experiencing the Spinraza slump right now. Because of this, my already weak arms are exceptionally weak these days. And as a writer, I don’t have time for that haha.

I currently use my phone to type. Whether it’s in a Google doc or through my WiFi mouse app that connects to my laptop, it works pretty well. However, with my limited energy as of late, it has become more tiring more quickly.

What do you use to type? Do you find voice recognition software easier? I try to use the microphone on my phone sometimes but it normally doesn’t understand me. I’m wondering if something a little more high tech would work though.

alyssa-silva replied 3 years, 5 months ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • ronald-borgschulte

November 12, 2020 at 11:13 am

There’s a product called Ergo ArmRest that is inexpensive and may be beneficial.  Or you could consider a more sophisticated arm support – either mechanical or powered.  These require insurance approval.

• nikki

November 13, 2020 at 3:50 pm