• Welcome!

Posted by kevin-schaefer on December 20, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Welcome to the SMA college students forum! This is a public forum for SMA individuals who are either in college, want to attend or have graduated. I am a 24 year-old with SMA Type II, and in 2016 I graduated from NC State University with a B.A. in English. I now work here at BioNews full-time, and you can access all of my articles and podcasts at SMA News Today.

To start the discussion, please post brief introductions of yourselves and why you’re here. Are you currently in school or looking into college? Or have you already graduated?

This forum is public, so for a more privatized discussion please join the SMA patients group. You can also private message anyone here.

Thanks for joining us here!

deann-r replied 6 years, 3 months ago 3 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • carson-berry

January 4, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Hello, everyone!  I am a Junior at Coastal Carolina University in Conway, SC majoring in Marine Science with a concentration in physical oceanography, and I am also minoring in German.  If all goes smoothly, I plan on graduating in May 2019! After that I will either end up looking for work or put myself in more debt and go to graduate school with the hopes of making more money with a graduate degree.

I lived on campus my freshman and part of sophomore years and had a caregiver agency help me out in the mornings and evenings, which was an experience within itself and eventually led to me moving back home to be a commuter.  Currently, my mother is paid by the state to be my assistant and she follows me to class and all that good stuff.  If anyone has any questions about transitioning to college life with SMA, especially about going into the sciences with such a physically limiting condition, I’m all ears–or eyes in this case.