• The Dating Game

Posted by jennifer-lewis on March 14, 2019 at 10:38 am

As a 51-year old woman, I’ve had some fascinating experiences dating. My teen years were lonely and I always felt left out of things because my friends would date but I didn’t think any guy would be interested in me. If I’m being honest with myself though, I was my own worst enemy. I was a total wallflower (where did that term ever come from, anyway?). Being in a wheelchair kind of does that to you though.

Then I went an hour away to college and, like most college kids, I colleged HARD. Classes? Who needs that?! I had friends and they had male friends. Since these guys were stuck living “with” me they got to know me. Don’t get me wrong, it took a while before I gained enough confidence to truly put myself on the market, but once I did I was off to the races. For the most part, I dated some decent guys. I was never physically taken advantage of but mentally it was sketchy. I mean, like most males in their early 20’s they tend to be focused on one thing and one thing only. It took me a long time to get to where I thought I was ready for “more.” Looking back, I know I was far from ready, but I did what I thought was the right thing for me at the time. I’m not going to beat myself over it.