• Posted by daniela-s on January 21, 2022 at 5:20 pm

Hi everyone I am Daniela. I’m 24 yrs old I have type 2 sma and live in Texas,  originally from Mexico. I’m currently an accounting graduate student.

I look forward to getting to learn more about everyone’s diverse experiences and make new friends.

nikki replied 2 years, 1 month ago 7 Members · 16 Replies
  • 16 Replies
  • blake-watson

January 21, 2022 at 5:26 pm

Hi Daniela, welcome to the forum! I’m 36, also SMA type 2, from Mississippi.

I came very close pursuing accounting myself but ended up in business information systems because I’m a computer nerd. ????

• daniela-s

January 24, 2022 at 9:38 pm

Hi Blake! That’s awesome, I think if I hadn’t gone with accounting I might have done something similar to BIS. I’m not a computer nerd but I took a computer programming class in high school which I really enjoyed and then 2 intro classes to BIS.

• blake-watson

January 27, 2022 at 11:13 am

Oh nice! I sort of accidentally discovered that I enjoyed programming and then I took as many programming electives as I could. In BIS the programming exercises were business-oriented so we did a number of accounting/finance programs such as a simple web-based loan amortization tool.

• alyssa-silva

January 21, 2022 at 6:14 pm

Hey Daniela! As I wrote to you earlier, I’m a moderator here. 🙂 I have SMA type 1 and live in Rhode Island. I’m 31 years old with a marketing degree and currently work for a fashion startup as their chief creative officer. We make adaptive lingerie for women with disabilities!

Kudos on getting your graduate degree! I barely passed accounting in college haha, oops. That and economics were my most challenging classes in business school. Welcome to the forums.

• daniela-s

January 24, 2022 at 9:42 pm