SMA News Forums Forums Life Advice and Transitions College Students What was your biggest hurdle in college?

• What was your biggest hurdle in college?

Posted by alyssa-silva on May 15, 2023 at 7:28 pm

It’s crazy to think that this week marks 10 years since I graduated college. Earning that degree is definitely a big accomplishment of mine. I remember being in high school and thinking there was no way I could tackle the demanding workload that college brings. 

But I took a huge leap of faith, and even though I hit many roadblocks along the way, it all worked out in the end. Though I’ll never forget missing my first-year final exams after being hospitalized with the flu, dragging my mom to classes because I couldn’t find caregivers, or having to advocate for my needs every semester. 

Did you go to college? If so, what was your biggest hurdle?

blake-watson replied 11 months ago 4 Members · 15 Replies
  • 15 Replies
  • blake-watson

May 16, 2023 at 10:48 am

Yeah finding caregivers was probably the toughest thing. I went to a school about three hours from home so having reliable PCAs was critical. PCAs are a high-turnover job as it is but it was made even more difficult because of living at home during summers—juggling people in two cities.

But it was all worth it. Going to college was a great experience and I feel like I learned a lot living on my own. If only I wasn’t so goofy and awkward back then 😂.

• deann-r

May 18, 2023 at 12:51 pm

Just curious Blake, did you live on campus?  What was the housing like?

• blake-watson

May 22, 2023 at 2:37 pm

@drunge I lucked out and had an on-campus apartment that was designated for married couples and grad students. It was nice and quiet but still connected to my university’s extensive sidewalk system. And I had an automatic door opener installed so that I could come and go on my own for the first time ever.