SMA News Forums Forums Assistive Technology World of Switches

• World of Switches

Posted by deann-r on December 3, 2020 at 9:15 am

I’m relatively new to the world of switches.  My new wheelchair has the power toggle in the most inconvenient place so the wheelchair guy plugged in a switch.  Granted it at least makes it functional, but I’m not crazy about it because it’s ultra sensitive and kind of large.  I know nothing about switches.  Are there options?  Where do I look?  What do I look for?  I’d also love to hear what other uses switches have.  Like could they be used to turn on a laptop?  I’m struggling with the power button being on the top left.

yvette-haas replied 3 years, 3 months ago 5 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • yvette-haas

December 3, 2020 at 11:04 am

Hi DeeAnn,

Yes, the options with switches are pretty much limitless. Is there any chance you could tell me which model he gave you, so I could get a better idea of what you consider too sensitive? That way I can make suggestions (or make you a switch).

As for the question about the laptop…. You should post that to the ATMakers group on FB. Lmk if you would like a link.

• greg-sealey

December 3, 2020 at 3:27 pm

Hi DeeAnn,

Switches seem to be a necessary part of mobility living. For me, I have limited strength and limited range of motion.  So, I need switches close to my joystick so I can reach them without moving my hand.  I have 2 physical switches on my chair (Quantum Edge-3).  One switch turns my chair on and off as well as toggles through the four modes of the chair.  The second switch is unique in that through that one button I am able to control my phone, my hand warmer, and the headlights and taillights on my chair.