SMA News Forums Forums Our Community Adults ​With​ ​SMA Being a Freelancer or Entrepreneur When You Have SMA

• Being a Freelancer or Entrepreneur When You Have SMA

Posted by kevin-schaefer on March 7, 2019 at 11:00 am

Employment for people with disabilities is something I talk about a lot, and it’s important. Jobs aren’t easy for us to come by, and a lot of times we have to think outside the box in order to determine the right career path.

For me, I’ve been a freelancer since college. I wrote for some websites and nonprofits during and after college, and I eventually got the job here at BioNews Services as a regular contractor. I was able to utilize my writing, communication and multimedia skills to help grow the company, and I can do it all by working from home. I’m also able to do other writing and speaking jobs on the side, and I do focus a lot on my comic book writing when I’m not doing things for BioNews.

Freelancing is great for me. I make enough to pay rent, cover caregiving expenses, have plenty of spending money, and I can still retain my Medicaid benefits.

I know plenty of others in the SMA community who are self-employed freelancers and entrepreneurs, and I do recommend it for a lot of people with disabilities. It requires a lot of creativity and a willingness to work odd hours, but it can also provide flexibility. I often work nights and weekends, whether it’s writing or sending emails, but it’s well worth it.