SMA News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge Newbie here!

• Newbie here!

Posted by jennifer-lewis on March 12, 2019 at 10:17 am

I’d like to thank the Acadamy for this award… Wait, scratch that.

I’m 51-years-old and I have SMA 3 (although I think I’m more like a 2 since I only walked, albeit awkwardly, until I was 6 without braces). My sister also had it, but she passed away in 1996. Hers was much worse. Feel free to check out my profile for more info about me.

Now, to answer some questions:

-What brought you to the forums? Are you an SMA patient or caregiver?

I’m a person who has SMA3 (I don’t care for the term “patient”) and I came to the forums by accident while looking for general news about SMA.

-What topics are you interested in discussing or learning more about?

I have no idea. I’m just going to wing it.

-Are you new to the SMA News Today community or have you been a part of it for a while?

Brand-spanking-new

-Are you involved in any other SMA communities or advocacy groups?

Nope. I’ve never been a big fan of such things, really.

jennifer-lewis replied 5 years, 1 month ago 8 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • kevin-schaefer

March 12, 2019 at 10:51 am

Thanks for introducing yourself Jennifer! We’re happy to have you here.

I’m sorry you lost your sister back then, but thank you for being open about it. With these forums, we want to provide both information and community support.

To learn more about me, you can check out my weekly column on the main site: https://smanewstoday.com/category/embracing-my-inner-alien-a-column-by-kevin-schaefer/.

Feel free to post here anytime. Also, I read in your profile about your relationship with your boyfriend. I’d love to hear more about that, and how the two of you met. We have a forum for dating and relationships.

Thanks again for joining us!

• kelly-miller

March 12, 2019 at 4:45 pm